Brussels:Bruxelles – Monuments

The defacto capital of the European Union.

Headquarters of the European Commission
Cathedral of St. Michael and St. Gudula


French: Jardin botanique de Bruxelles; Dutch: Kruidtuin van Brussel
Église Royale Sainte-Marie (Saint Mary’s Royal Church). The church was designed by Louis van Overstraeten and built in an eclectic style combining influences from Byzantine and Roman architecture.
The Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in French, or The Koninklijke Muntschouwburg in Dutch, is an Opera house in Brussels, Belgium. Both of its names translate as Royal Theatre of the Mint.
Finance Tower – designed by the architects Hugo Van Kuyck, Marcel Lambrichs and Léon Stynen. It is the second tallest building in Belgium, and has the most office space of any building in Belgium.
Today the National Opera of Belgium, a federal institution, takes the name of the theatre in which it is housed. Therefore, la Monnaie or de Munt refers both to the structure as well as the opera company.
Chambre des représentants de Belgique – The Chamber of Representatives is one of the two chambers in the bicameral Federal Parliament of Belgium, the other being the Senate. It is considered to be the “lower house” of the Federal Parliament.
The Atomium, originally constructed for the 1958 Brussels World’s Fair.
Designed by the engineer André Waterkeyn and architects André and Jean Polak, it stands 102 m tall.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close